Markus Schirmer, Piano

schirmer_presse01_lang.jpg

Credit: Jungwirth/Big Shot/Graz/Austria

Markus Schirmer


"Energy, expression and emotion characterise Austrian top pianist Markus Schirmer’s music-making."

 

No matter where he tours he receives audience acclaim for his charismatic musicianship and his ability to tell vivid stories with the instrument. One of his reviews sums him up precisely:
“A pied piper on the piano…music that comes straight from the heart, the brain and the fingertips.”

After intense studies with Rudolf Kehrer, Karl-Heinz Kämmerling or Paul Badura-Skoda the Graz born artist went on to win numerous prizes and honours and to take a number of major concert halls and festivals by storm: the Wiener Musikverein and Konzerthaus, Herkulessaal and Philharmonic (Munich), Suntory Hall (Tokyo), Wigmore Hall (London), Gewandhaus (Leipzig), Philharmonie and Konzerthaus (Berlin), Rudolfinum (Prague), Palais des Beaux Arts (Brussels), Finlandia Hall (Helsinki), Teatro Teresa Carreño Caracas), Palau de la Musica (Valencia), Victoria Hall (Geneva), Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Teatro Olimpico (Vicenza), Megaron (Athens), Lucerne Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Festival international de piano “La Roque d´Antheron“, Ruhr piano festival, “Stars of White Nights Festival” (St.Petersburg), Festival pianistico internazionale "Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli" (Brescia), Vilnius Festival, Kissinger Sommer, styriarte, Bregenz Festival, Mondseetage, ISCM Music Festival and many more.

He has worked with renowned orchestras: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London, Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Mariinsky Orchestra St.Petersburg, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Vienna Symphony Orchestra, English Chamber Orchestra, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Sinfonia Varsovia, the Radio Symphony Orchestras of Vienna, Munich and Leipzig, Borusan Philharmonic, Czech Philharmonic, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra under Valery Gergiev, Sir Neville Marriner, Vladimir Fedoseyev, Lord Yehudi Menuhin, Jukka Pekka Saraste, Sir Charles Mackerras, Michael Gielen, John Axelrod, Fabio Luisi, Yan-Pascal Tortellier, Philippe Entremont, James Judd, Paul Goodwin and Philippe Jordan among others.

He adores Schubert above all but is also enthusiastic about more obscure works such as Britten’s ironic piano concerto, the transcendental solo piano oeuvre of Szymanowski or "Castelli Romani", an epic piano concerto by Joseph Marx.

Chamber music plays an important role in his work and his partners have included Vadim Repin, Renaud Capuçon, Julian Rachlin, Benjamin Schmid, Clemens Hagen, Isabelle van Keulen, Sharon Kam, Nils Mönkemeyer , Danjulo Ishizaka, Patrick Demenga, Christian Altenburger, the Ensemble Wien-Berlin, the Artis-, the Auryn-, the Carmina Quartet, the String Trio Berlin and many others.

 

His love affair with the unusual, his daring and his eagerness to explore new territories ensure the development of sensational events outside the traditional classical repertoire:

- SCURDIA is an improvisation project which brings together extraordinary musicians from all over the world on one stage, thus allowing new artistic and creative energies to be set free by bridging various cultures.

- Markus Schirmer has great pleasure in working with actors, combining literature and music, and has developed unusual programs which are celebrated by audience and critics alike.
In collaboration with the American singer and actress Helen Schneider f.e. he presents his own adaptation of Kurt Weill’s ”The Seven Deadly Sins” for voice and piano.

For his exceptional artistic diversity Markus Schirmer was awarded the “Music Manual Award“ at the Euromusic International Music Convention and is a recipient of one of Austria’s most prestigious awards, the Karl Böhm Interpretation Prize.

He received the German Record Critics’ Award for his debut CD of Schubert Sonatas.
Further recordings including works by Haydn, Beethoven, Ravel, Mussorgsky and his latest strongly acclaimed outing “THE MOZART SESSIONS” together with the uplifting US chamber orchestra A FAR CRY have won numerous international prizes.

In the upcoming season he will be performing at many festivals and concert series in the United States, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, the Netherlands, the Emirates, China and Austria.

In addition to his work as a very successful Professor of Piano at the Music University in his hometown Graz – many of his students are acclaimed prizewinners - Markus Schirmer regularly gives international masterclasses for piano and is a sought after adjudicator at several prestigious piano competitions.

 

Furthermore, since 2015 Markus Schirmer has been artistic director of the annual international music festival ARSONORE, which every September engages top chamber musicians to perform in the Hall of Planets at Eggenberg Castle (UNESCO World Cultural Heritage) in Graz.

Visit Markus Schirmer at the internet:


www.markusschirmer.at
www.arsonore.at

 

 
This biography is to be reproduced without any changes, omissions or additions, unless expressly authorized.

 

Press excerpts

 

…Markus Schirmer is so prolific, humorous and inventive that any piano is liable to marry him on the spot if he’s not careful.
Basler Zeitung, Switzerland)
 

…It became clear why for years audience and critics alike have rejoiced wherever this pianist could be heard . The basic attitude of his play is very simple: „The score contains enough information. An interpreter should not try to be brighter than the composer.
(Der Standard, Austria)
 

…Markus Schirmer’s piano playing has reached a dangerous stage: His sovereign and natural manner of interpretation can be addictive.
(Kleine Zeitung, Austria)
 

…Only the greatest pianists played Haydn: Vladimir Horowitz, Glenn Gould, Alfred Brendel  – and now Markus Schirmer joins this illustrious circle.
(Sueddeutsche Zeitung, Germany)

You must install Adobe Flash to view this content.

Impressum Cadenza Concert

Markus Schirmer, Klavier

schirmer_presse01_lang.jpg

Fotokredit: Jungwirth/Big Shot/Graz/Austria

Markus Schirmer



"Geballte Energie, höchste Ausdruckskraft sowie eine faszinierende Symbiose aus Emotion und Intellekt kennzeichnen das Spiel von Österreichs Ausnahmepianisten Markus Schirmer."

 

Gleichgültig, ob in Asien, nahezu allen Ländern Europas, Nord- oder Südamerika:

Sein Publikum schätzt ihn vor allem wegen seiner außergewöhnlichen Musikalität und ist von zwei Dingen gleichermaßen fasziniert: von seiner Fähigkeit, auf dem Instrument lebendige Geschichten zu erzählen und von seiner seltenen, charismatischen Ausstrahlungskraft auf dem Podium. Eine seiner Rezensionen bringt es auf den Punkt:
„Ein Rattenfänger auf dem Klavier“ - Musik, die aus Herz, Hirn und Fingerspitzen kommt.


In Graz geboren, erobert er nach seinen Studien u.a. bei Rudolf Kehrer, Karl-Heinz Kämmerling oder Paul Badura-Skoda sowie einer Reihe an Preisen und Auszeichnungen die wichtigsten Konzertpodien und Festivals im Sturm: Wiener Musikverein & Konzerthaus, Herkulessaal & Philharmonie/München, Suntory Hall/Tokio, Wigmore Hall/London, Gewandhaus/ Leipzig, Rudolfinum/Prag, Philharmonie & Konzerthaus/Berlin, Megaron/Athen, Palais des Beaux Arts/Brüssel, Finlandia Hall/Helsinki, Teatro Teresa Carreño/Carracas, Victoria Hall/Genf, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Teatro Olimpico/Vicenza, Festival international de piano „La Roque d´Antheron“, Klavierfestival Ruhr, Lucerne Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Kissinger Sommer, „Stars of White Nights Festival“ St.Petersburg, Festival pianistico internationale "Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli" Brescia, Vilnius Festival, Schubertiade, Bregenzer Festspiele, Styriarte, IGNM-Weltmusikfest u.v.m.

Er arbeitet mit bedeutenden Orchestern und Dirigenten: Wiener Philharmoniker, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London, Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Mariinsky Orchestra St. Petersburg, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Wiener Symphoniker, English Chamber Orchestra, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Sinfonia Varsovia, Radio-Symphonieorchester von Wien, München, Leipzig, Tschechische Philharmonie, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra unter Valery Gergiev, Sir Neville Marriner, James Judd, Vladimir Fedoseyev, Lord Yehudi Menuhin, Jukka Pekka Saraste, Sir Charles Mackerras, Michael Gielen, Fabio Luisi, Paul Goodwin, John Axelrod oder Philippe Jordan.

Er liebt Schubert über alles, begeistert sich aber auch für Raritäten wie Brittens ironisches Klavierkonzert, die teuflisch schwierigen „Castelli Romani“-Orchesterstücke von Joseph Marx oder die transzendenten Soloklavierwerke Szymanowskis.

Kammermusik nimmt in seinem Schaffen einen großen Stellenwert ein.
So musiziert er mit Vadim Repin, Renaud Capuçon, Julian Rachlin, Benjamin Schmid, Clemens Hagen, Sharon Kam, Ramón Ortega Queiro, Isabelle van Keulen, Nils Mönkemeyer, Natalia Prishepenko, Danjulo Ishizaka,
Christian Altenburger, Patrick Demenga, dem Ensemble Wien-Berlin, dem Artis-, dem Auryn- oder dem Carmina Quartett, dem Streichtrio Berlin u.v.a.

 

In diesem Musiker schlägt allerdings nicht nur ein Herz. Es ist seine Liebe zum Ausgefallenen, seine Waghalsigkeit und Lust, Neuland zu betreten, um auch jenseits der „etablierten Klassik“ für Aufsehen erregende Ereignisse zu sorgen:

• „Scurdia“, ein Improvisationsprojekt, welches außergewöhnliche Musiker aus allen Teilen der Welt auf einer Bühne vereint und durch den Brückenschlag zwischen den verschiedensten Kulturkreisen völlig neue künstlerisch-kreative Energien freizusetzen vermag.

• Mit Schauspielern wie Wolfram Berger, Peter Simonischek oder Julia Stemberger verbinden Schirmer höchst eigenwillige, von Publikum und Presse einhellig gefeierte Programme. Mit Cornelius Obonya ist ein weiteres in Vorbereitung.

• Mit der US-Sängerin und Schauspielerin Helen Schneider präsentiert er Kurt Weills „Die 7 Todsünden“ in einer von ihm bearbeiteten Fassung für Stimme und Solo-Klavier.

Für seine ungewöhnliche künstlerische Vielseitigkeit erhielt Markus Schirmer im Rahmen der internationalen Musikmesse EUROMUSIC den „Music Manual Award“.
Eine der angesehensten Auszeichnungen für einen österreichischen Künstler wurde ihm ebenfalls zuteil: Der "Karl-Böhm-Interpretationspreis".

Bereits seine erste CD mit Schubert-Sonaten erhielt den „Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik“. Auch seine weiteren Einspielungen mit Werken von Haydn, Beethoven, Ravel, und Mussorgsky sowie „THE MOZART SESSIONS“ gemeinsam mit A FAR CRY, einem der spannendsten jungen Kammerorchester der USA, sind international preisgekrönt worden.

Auftritte bei zahlreichen Festivals und Konzertserien in den USA, Deutschland, der Schweiz, Belgien, den Niederlanden, Bahrain, China und Österreich stehen in der nächsten Saison auf seinem Programm.


Neben einer Professur für Klavier an der Musikuniversität seiner Heimatstadt Graz wirkt Markus Schirmer auch als gefragter Pädagoge bei internationalen Meisterklassen oder als Juror bei verschiedenen renommierten Klavierwettbewerben. Bei etlichen internationalen Ausscheidungen erringen Markus Schirmers StudentInnen stets vorderste Plätze.

Seit 2015 ist Markus Schirmer außerdem künstlerischer Leiter des internationalen Musikfestes ARSONORE, welches jährlich im September die Elite der Kammermusik auf die Bühne des Planetensaales im Grazer Schloß Eggenberg (UNESCO Weltkulturerbe) bittet.
 

Besuchen Sie Markus Schirmer im Internet:

www.markusschirmer.at
www.arsonore.at

 

Wir bitten Sie, diese Biographie unverändert abzudrucken. Auslassungen und Veränderungen nur nach Rücksprache.

Pressezitate

 

…Markus Schirmer ist so gewandt, humorvoll und einfallsreich, dass jeder Flügel ihn vom Fleck weg heiratet, wenn er nicht aufpasst!
(Basler Zeitung, CH)
 

…Man verstand, warum seit Jahren schon Publikum und Kritik überall dort in Jubel ausbrechen, wo dieser Pianist zu hören ist. Die Grundhaltung seines Spiels ist bestechend einfach: ”Es steht genug in den Noten. Ein Interpret sollte nicht versuchen, gescheiter zu sein als der Komponist.“
(Der Standard, A)
 

…Ein gefährliches Stadium hat Markus Schirmers Klavierspiel erreicht: Seine souveräne, natürliche Interpretationskunst kann süchtig machen.
(Kleine Zeitung, A)
 

…Nur die größten Pianisten spielten Haydn: Vladimir Horowitz, Glenn Gould, Alfred Brendel, Rudolf Buchbinder – und Markus Schirmer schließt sich jetzt diesem erlauchten Kreis an.
(Süddeutsche Zeitung, D)

You must install Adobe Flash to view this content.

Impressum Cadenza Concert